Breathtaking beauty of traditional Asian head wear

My apologies for abandoning this blog for awhile. I went into a discussion with an old friend from school, what was it about I might disclose in the next post but not now, cause now I want to talk about and show beautiful things.

Last week one friend told me that there is an exhibition of the traditional Asian head wear in Benaki museum. Since I have always been a fan of traditional clothes, I went without doubt. The woman from the ticket desk told me that it is prohibited to take photos in this particular exhibition. When I entered the hall, I thought I’m gonna kill myself, cause it was so beautiful, and I could not take pictures to remember the beauty. To my surprise, an old lady came in and a few people started talking to her, it appeared that she was the owner of this hat collection. And this was her work (well, more of a hobby) of thirty years, while travelling through the whole Asia she collected, bought or was given all the items. I approached her and asked if it was possible to photograph the exhibition, she smiled and said: ‘well, off course, why not’. I thought that after two hours of blinking my left eye is gonna pop out, few exhibition guards still tried to stop me and my hand and neck were sore as ever, but I have never been happier in my life, cause I knew that now I will be able to look at this unearthly beauty whenever I wanted!

These hats are more than just hats, it is a great art! They can also serve as protection from demons, as in the case of Chinese children’s hats, where they are embroidered with divinities, tiny Buddhas and mythical creatures. They also accompany people through important rituals in life, like becoming of age or marriage rituals.  For me these hats are an unbelievably beautiful expression of humans imagination and I envy anyone (a nice, white envy:) that has such an imagination. How do you come up with a silver chaos of dragons and cranes with diamonds hanging from their mouths and, butterflies and flowers BEING a hat? You have to be some kind of divinity:)

I will share with you some pictures of these magical creations and hopefully they are gonna make you happy, like they made me:)

Mongolian head wearMongolian head wear

Head cushion, Rajasthan IndiaHead cushion for carrying jars, Rajasthan, India

Groom's crown. Bengal, IndiaGroom’s crown. Bengal, India

Crown - offering to divinities in shrines. Benares, IndiaCrown – offering to divinities in shrines. Benares, India

Crown - offering to divinities in shrines. Benares, IndiaCrown – offering to divinities in shrines. Benares, India

Headdress for the initiation of young men. MyanmarHeaddress for the initiation of young men. Myanmar (Burma)

Minangkabau woman's wedding diadem. Sumatra, IndonesiaMinangkabau woman’s wedding diadem. Sumatra, Indonesia

Akha women's headdressAkha women’s headdress

Akha headdress of an unmarried woman. South ChinaAkha headdress of an unmarried woman. South China

Miao festive headdress. Guizhou, South ChinaMiao festive headdress. Guizhou, south China

Children's headdress. VietnamChildren’s headdress. Vietnam

Miao festive headdress. Guizhou, south ChinaMiao festive headdress. Guizhou, south China

Miaho festive hatsA close up of Miao festive Headdress

Children's and babies cap's close upA close up of children’s cap. China

Children’s and babies caps. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

Children's cap. China

8 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

8 responses to “Breathtaking beauty of traditional Asian head wear

  1. Laurynas

    Hey, very impresive art;) my favorite one is probably “Minangkabau woman’s wedding diadem. Sumatra, Indonesia”. Lucky you to catch up the owner:)

  2. Yeah:) I think they all are beautiful in their own way, I like children’s caps a lot, they’re so colourful! In Greece everything is possible, if this was in some northern country I don’t think that even with the woman’s permission the museum would’ve let me photograph:)

  3. Pingback: Traditional Asian head wear « Wedding Hats

  4. Gauti

    heya! I was looking for some pictures of Mongolian hats and head pieces, but there were only limited pictures available. Could you recommend any website in particular? Thanks! 🙂

  5. Hey, well I found this, maybe it will be of a help. Its many folk costumes, including head wear, they’re drawn, not photographer, though.
    http://www.face-music.ch/bi_bid/trad_costumes_en.html

  6. May Poo Saelee

    *Children’s headdress. Vietnam

    Correction: It is the Headdress of the Mienh people

  7. Thanks May Poo Saelee! I just wrote what was written on the card close to the exhibit, they might have switched the cards:)

  8. Mich

    love the mongolian headwear burt what does the bottom and top of the metal stick thing at the front look like

Leave a Reply

